Tag Archives: hob nob


Political Hob Nob 2018 Straw Poll Results


Results below from the straw poll taken at the Lakeland Chamber of Commerce Political Hob Nob 2018 on Tuesday August 14th. Voting administered by Polk County Supervisor of Elections.

U.S. Senate

  • Rick Scott, R, 222
  • Bill Nelson, D, 115
  • Rocky Roque de la Fuente, R, 7

U.S. House, District 9

  • Wayne Liebnitzky, R, 162
  • Darren Soto, D, 111
  • Alan Grayson, D 26

U.S. House, District 15

  • Neil Combee, R, 92
  • Ross Spano, R, 62
  • Andrew Learned, D, 61
  • Sean Harper, R, 40
  • Danny Kushmer, R, 34
  • Kristen Carlson, D, 19
  • Ray Pena, D, 17
  • Ed Shoemaker, R, 12

U.S. House, District 17

  • Greg Stuebe, R, 85
  • Julio Gonzalez, R, 84
  • April Freeman, D, 54
  • Bill Akins, R, 39
  • Bill Pollard, D, 22

Florida Governor

  • Adam Putnam, R, 234
  • Gwen Graham, D, 37
  • Andrew Gillum, D, 29
  • Ron DeSantis, R, 23
  • Philip Levine, D, 22
  • Jeff Greene, D, 6
  • Chris King, D, 1
  • Bob White, D, 1

Florida Attorney General

  • Ashley Moody, R, 184
  • Sean Shaw, D, 59
  • Frank White, R, 48
  • Ryan Torrens, D, 26
  • Jeffrey Marc Siskind, NPA, 3

Florida Chief Financial Officer

  • Jimmy Patronis, R, 203
  • Jeremy Ring, D, 91

Florida Commissioner of Agriculture

  • Denise Grimsley, R, 129
  • Baxter Troutman, R, 59
  • Matt Caldwell, R, 57
  • Roy David Walker, D, 43
  • Nikki Fried, D, 23
  • Jeffrey Duane Porter, D, 11
  • Mike McCalister, R, 10

Florida Senate, District 20

  • Tom Lee, R, 170
  • Joy Gibson, D, 51
  • John Manners Houman, R, 39
  • Kathy Lewis, D, 39

Florida Senate, District 22

  • Kelli Stargel, R, 218
  • Bob Doyel, D, 114
  • Ricardo Rangel, D, 6

Florida Senate, District 26

  • Ben Albritton, R, 216
  • Catherine Price, R, 90

Florida House, District 39

  • Josie Tomkow, R, 198
  • Ricky Shirah, D, 114

Florida House, District 40

  • Colleen Burton, R, 238
  • Shandale Terrell, D, 95

Florida House, District 42

  • Mike La Rosa, R, 204
  • Barbara Cady, D, 90

Florida House, District 56

  • Melony Bell, R, 231
  • Jeff Mann, R, 63

County Commission, District 2

  • Rick Wilson, R, 223
  • Katherine “Kat” Gates-Skipper, R, 69

County Commission, District 4

  • Martha Santiago, R, 143
  • Jim Guth, R, 116
  • Karen Cooper Welzel, D, 70

Circuit Judge, Group 10

  • Melissa Gravitt, 138
  • Keith Merritt, 128
  • Lee Cohen, 52

Circuit Judge, Group 11

  • Dana Y. Moore, 168
  • Steve Pinckett, 130

School Board, District 3

  • Scott Jones, 127
  • Sarah Fortney, 77
  • Kala Tedder, 53
  • LaTrice Moore, 51

School Board, District 5

  • Kay Fields, 119
  • Terry L. Clark, 98
  • Jennifer Sabin, 90

School Board, District 7

  • Lisa Miller, 209
  • David Byrd, 95

Polk Soil and Water Conservation District, Group 2

  • Greg Williams, 133
  • Joe Garrison, 118

Polk Soil and Water Conservation District, Group 3

  • Kyle Carlton, 175
  • OnDrew Hartigan, 70

Local and Regional Candidates to Participate in 2018 Hob Nob

LAKELAND, FL (July 12, 2018) – The 2018 Political Hob Nob being hosted at the Rocking H Ranch on Tuesday, August 14, 2018, provides an occasion to meet with local and state candidates and learn more about them.

In an effort to increase awareness of and participation in the elections process, the Lakeland Chamber provides this opportunity for the local community to speak with candidates and local clubs at their respective booths.  Attendees will vote in a Straw Poll administered by the Polk County Supervisor of Elections from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM with the results announced that evening at 7:45 PM.  Candidates will take the stage to introduce themselves.

The Rocking H Ranch provides the perfect “Old Florida” backdrop for the event.  Originally, an old Cattle Ranch, it now is one of the leading Agritourism spots in Florida.  Attendees will also enjoy great BBQ, beverages, valet parking and good company.

The event is made possible by underwriting from community-focused companies and organizations – Red Sponsors are Clark, Campbell, Lancaster & Munson, P.A., Ledger Media Group, Rocking H Ranch, Spectrum Business; Gubernatorial Sponsors include A-C-T Environmental & Infrastructure, Inc., Reed Mawhinney & Link, PLLC, and Watson Clinic LLP. Other sponsors and supporters are Bernie Little Distributors, BTB Catering, Lakeland Valet, Polk County Supervisor of Elections, WONN/WPCV/WLKF/WWRZ Radio, and lkldnow.com (Linking Community Now Inc.).

Candidates may register for a Table until Tuesday, August 7, 2018 using this link https://bit.ly/2Hb8ZvU or by visiting http://www.lakelandchamber.com and clicking on the Events Calendar tab.

Tickets to the event are $25 with advance purchase and $30 if purchased at the door.  Corporate 10-Packs are available for $200.  Sponsorships are available.  Tickets can be purchased by using this link https://bit.ly/2Hb8ZvU or by visiting http://www.lakelandchamber.com and clicking on the Events Calendar tab.

Candidates and clubs that are currently registered to attend are listed below.  Candidates will be added to our event page as they register – please visit http://www.lakelandchamber.com and click the Events Calendar tab to view.

Representative in Congress, District 15:

Neil Combee

Sean Harper

Danny Kushmer

Ed Shoemaker

Ross Spano

Kristen Carlson

Andrew P. Learned

Representative in Congress, District 17:

Greg Steube


Philip Levine

Attorney General:

Ashley Moody

State Senator, District 22:

Kelli Stargel

State Senator, District 26:

Catherine Price

State Representative, District 39:

Josie Tomkow

State Representative, District 40:

Colleen Burton

Shandale Terrell

State Representative, District 56:

Melony Bell

Jeff Mann

County Commissioner, District 2:

Kathryn “Kat” Gates-Skipper

Rick Wilson

County Commissioner, District 4:

Jim Guth

Martha Santiago

Circuit Judge, 10th Judicial Circuit, Group 10:

Lee Cohen

Melissa Gravitt

Circuit Judge, 10th Judicial Circuit, Group 11:

Dana Y. Moore

Stephen Paul Pinket

School Board, District 3:

Sarah Fortney

Scott Jones

LaTrice Moore

Kala Tedder

School Board, District 5:

Terry L. Clark

Kay Fields

Jennifer Sabin

School Board, District 7:

David Byrd

Lisa Miller

Clubs and Organizations:

The Republican Club of Lakeland

The Democratic Women’s Club of Lakeland

The Republican Women’s Club of Lakeland, Federated
Event Sponsors:

Red Sponsors

Clark, Campbell, Lancaster & Munson, P.A.

Rocking H Ranch

Ledger Media Group

Spectrum Business

Gubernatorial Sponsors

A-C-T Environmental & Infrastructure

Reed Mawhinney & Link, PLLC

Watson Clinic LLP

Media Partners

Big 4 Radio – WONN/WPCV/WLKF/WWRZ Radio

lkldnow.com (Linking Community Now Inc.)

Exclusive Beer Sponsor

Bernie Little Distributor

Event Sponsors

BTB Catering

Lakeland Valet

Event Partner

Polk County Supervisor of Elections

Location:  Rocking H Ranch, 2200 Ewell Rd, Lakeland, FL  33811

Date/Time Information:  Tuesday, August 14, 2018, 5:30 PM – 9:00 PM

Contact Information:  Rebecca Fortier, rfortier@lakelandchamber.com


The Lakeland Chamber of Commerce represents 1,400-member businesses in the Lakeland area and provides opportunities for networking, professional development and advocacy for companies of all sizes. Five-star accredited by the US Chamber of Commerce, the Chamber upholds the following vision and mission statements: Vision Statement – The Lakeland Chamber of Commerce will be the premier catalyst for the advancement of Lakeland’s economic growth and enhancement of quality of life– creating Florida’s community of choice. Mission Statement – The Lakeland Chamber of Commerce is the leading organization dedicated to creating a climate where business can prosper.